August 9, 2022   admin   Comments Off on ‘Stars at Noon’ to Screen At New York Film Festival Danny Ramirez, Projects, Stars at Noon

The film will be screened as part of the festival’s 60th Anniversary Celebration

VARIETY – New movies from directors Claire Denis, Park Chan-wook, Ruben Östlund, Kelly Reichardt and Paul Schrader will play at the 60th New York Film Festival, which is running from Sept. 30 through Oct. 16.

On Tuesday, Film at Lincoln Center, which hosts the annual Manhattan-based celebration of cinema, unveiled the 32 films that comprise the main slate. The lineup showcases films produced in 18 different countries and spotlights a mix of first-time and returning filmmakers.

Several movies that first screened at Cannes Film Festival, including Claire Denis’s Grand Prix winner “Stars at Noon,” Park Chan-wook’s “Decision to Leave,” Ruben Östlund’s Palme d’Or winner “Triangle of Sadness” and Charlotte Wells’ debut feature “Aftersun,” will play at NYFF. Carla Simón’s “Alcarràs,” which was awarded the Golden Bear at the 72nd Berlinale Festival, and Shaunak Sen’s “All That Breathes,” which took Sundance Film Festival’s grand jury prize in the world cinema documentary competition, will also make their way to The Big Apple.

Appearing in the NYFF main slate for the first time are Margaret Brown, Davy Chou, Laura Citarella, Alice Diop, Mark Jenkin, Marie Kreutzer, Ryuji Otsuka and Huang Ji, and Cyril Schäublin. Returning NYFF filmmakers include Todd Field, Mia Hansen-Løve, Joanna Hogg, Pietro Marcello, Cristian Mungiu, Jafar Panahi, Véréna Paravel and Lucien Castaing-Taylor, Albert Serra, Jerzy Skolimowski, and Frederick Wiseman.

“If there is one takeaway from this year’s Main Slate, it is cinema’s limitless capacity for renewal,” said Dennis Lim, New York Film Festival’s artistic director. “Collectively, the films in the program suggest that this renewal takes many forms: breathtaking debuts, veterans pulling off new tricks, filmmakers of all stripes seeking new and surprising forms of expression and representation. We love the range and eclecticism of this group of films and are excited to share it with audiences.”

As previously announced, Noah Baumbach’s “White Noise” will open the festival, Laura Poitras’ documentary “All the Beauty and the Bloodshed” will be the centerpiece film and Elegance Bratton’s narrative debut “The Inspection” will close NYFF60. James Gray’s “Armageddon Time” will be the NYFF 60th anniversary screening event. Additional events, including currents, revivals, spotlight and talks, will be announced in the coming weeks.

As part of its 60th anniversary celebration, the New York Film Festival will offer festival screenings in all five boroughs of New York City in partnership with Alamo Drafthouse Cinema (Staten Island), Brooklyn Academy of Music (Brooklyn), the Bronx Museum of the Arts (Bronx), Maysles Documentary Center (Harlem), and the Museum of the Moving Image (Queens). Each venue will present a selection of films throughout the festival. A complete list of films and showtimes will be announced later this month.

The NYFF Main Slate selection committee, chaired by Dennis Lim, also includes Eugene Hernandez, Florence Almozini, K. Austin Collins, and Rachel Rosen. Regina Riccitelli is the NYFF programming coordinator, and Violeta Bava, Michelle Carey, Leo Goldsmith, and Gina Telaroli serve as festival advisers. Matt Bolish is the producer of NYFF.

Masks will be required for all staff, audiences and filmmakers at all times in public spaces. Proof of full vaccination is not required for NYFF60 audiences, but festival organizers say full vaccination is strongly recommended.

Comments are closed.